An Introduction to Pilates

All right. I just realized that I skipped the introduction of Pilates and skipped right to the not-so-formal-and-rule-abiding essay. To further familiarize my victims readers with the torture joy that is Pilates, here’s a little background information of the art, as imparted to us by our instructor, as well as a little unnecessary information about how I ended up giving myself this torture with my current PE.

When I first signed up for the class, I had absolutely no knowledge of what Pilates was really about. It just so happened that I remembered my cousin mentioning that she taught yoga, which struck me as peculiar because I had known her to have back problems. I thought, “Wouldn’t those weird postures aggravate them?” Then I thought about Pilates, which even then, I thought to be a variant of yoga without the creepy twists and backbreaking postures. I thought it to be something I can handle, even if (apparently, the right word for this would be since) I was diagnosed almost a year earlier with a mild form of scoliosis; according to the people at the Infirmary, my spine appeared to be twisting to the left. I just realized that it sounds more painful than it actually is.

I’m going to skip the part where I signed up for classes, got some of them, but ended up with no PE, and go straight to the part where I saw additional classes opening up. We saw several PEs that fit into our schedule, but ultimately decided on Pilates. So I and a two of my friends (you’ll see them here too, with the rest of the class) went to school and signed up for the class that would shorten my five-and-a-half-hour break into four and a half.

That was it. No other inspiring insights or realizations that suddenly prompted me to take it. Maybe somewhere along the line, I remembered that Pilates supposedly increased flexibility and strengthened core muscles. I’m not sure. I think I only remembered when our instructor had us do our introductions in class, along with the reason why we signed up for it.

During that same introductory session, we found out a bit about Pilates. I daresay it was informative for both the instructor and us students, as he has supposedly never taught Pilates before. He even had a book on Pilates beside him then, his towel inconspicuously covering it. 

That day, I found out that Pilates was developed by Joseph Pilates, hence the name. He was supposedly a man with many ills — his heart was weak, he had asthma, and other things — but really wanted to maintain a semblance of health. With that goal in mind, he took principles from several disciplines in order to create a routine that would give him the same benefits, with the amounts of physical strain minimized to a level his body can tolerate.

Pilates, being the collection of body conditioning exercises that it is, primarily improves and maintains flexibility, strengthens several muscle groups. (I find the leg, hip, back, and core muscles are the ones usually subject to torture concentrated on.) Since a good chunk of the principles Mr. Pilates used came from yoga, it’s no surprise a lot of people think the two to be related, similar, or a variant of each other. And considering the circumstances for its conception, Pilates was supposedly the easier, lighter, and less physically straining of the two.

Three weeks and six meetings later, I was about ready to ignore that statement.

2 thoughts on “An Introduction to Pilates

  1. gladly surprised by your long list of blog entries🙂

    • crizarah says:

      Seems I got too into it, didn’t I? Thank you for forcing prompting us to write. My imagination finally broke free of its two-year-long constipation😀

Leave a Reply

